In a career spanning 40 years Darrell Scott has penned hit songs for mainstream artists from the Dixie Chicks to Travis Tritt and has had songs covered by over 70 others spanning from Keb Mo’ to Mary Gauthier. Awards have included AMA Song of the Year, ASCAP’s Songwriter of the Year and a host of other accolades. He is probably best known for recording and touring as part of Robert Plant’s brilliant Band Of Joy.

His tenth studio album ‘Couchville Sessions’ was released to great acclaim in May 2016. The material on the album is comprised of mostly Darrell Scott originals, mixed with a few carefully chosen nods to “the masters” including Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, and Townes Van Zandt. Scott tackles profound issues – demise of relationships in “Time To Go Away”, mortality “It’s Another Day To Live And Die” and depression in “Another Grey Morning” (James Taylor), but delivers them in such a way that there’s a sense and light and comfort in this collection. The musicians gathered together for this recording are a hand-picked group of virtuosos including acclaimed English musician Danny Thompson on bass, percussionist Kenny Malone, steel guitar wiz Dan Dugmore, and Bill Payne (Little Feat/The Doobie Brothers) on piano and organ. Special guest appearances include vocals by Peter Rowan, John Cowan, and a rare narration by Guy Clark. The result is a collection of stunning and fearlessly played tracks, mostly recorded live in Scott’s rural living room out on Couchville Pike, which offer the perfect backdrop for Scott’s mesmerizing vocals.

Support comes from Declan McClafferty

Thursday 9th March,  8pm

Tickets €15